Sweeny Police | Sex Offenders | Registration Requirements

Welcome to the Official Web Site of the Sweeny Police Department

Main Navigation Bar

City Ordinances

Crime Prevention

Crime Stats

eGovernment

Emergency Mgmt.

Employment Opps

Most Wanted

News

Online Forms

Police Links

Sex Offenders

Victim Services

Warrants

 
Safety Links Bar

9-1-1

Amber Alert

Anthrax

Auto Theft

Gangs

Gun Safety

Hurricane Safety

ID Theft

Methamphetamine

Pipeline Safety

Project ChildSafe

Ricin

 
Other Links Bar

Complaint Procedures

Dept. Operation

Found Property

In Memoriam

Patriotic Dedication

Police Patch

National Police Week

Racial Profiling

Tech/Financial Info

Traffic Accidents

U.S. Constitution

Web Site Stats



Sex Offenders - Registration Requirements

Registration Requirements

The State of Texas requires all offenders convicted of any of the BELOW listed offenses to register with a local law enforcement authority where the offender intents to reside.  The law enforcement agency then verifies the registration and forwards the information to the Texas Department of Public Safety.  As long as the offender is required to register as a sex offender, the offender must report any status changes to the local law enforcement authority within seven (7) days of the change.  Failure to comply with registration, verification, or update processes are separate criminal offenses (felonies.)

The Sweeny Police Department registers sex offenders who reside inside the City of Sweeny.


Sex Offenses

The following criminal offenses require the registration of an offender with the State of Texas as a sex offender:

  • Aggravated Sexual Assault
  • Aggravated Sexual Assault of a Child
  • Aggravated Sexual Assault (65 years or older)
  • Aggravated Kidnapping (w/intent to violate or abuse the victim sexually)
  • Burglary of a Habitation (w/intent to commit a sex offense)
  • Compelling Prostitution
  • Indecency with a Child (exposure)
  • Indecency with a Child (sexual contact)
  • Indecent Exposure (2nd conviction)
  • Possession/Promotion of Child Pornography
  • Prohibited Sexual Conduct
  • Sexual Assault
  • Sexual Assault of a Child
  • Sexual Performance of a Child (employ induce/authorize)
  • Sexual Performance of a Child (produce/direct/promote)

The following offenses require registration as a sex offender if the victim is younger than 17 years of age, and the offense was sex related:

  • Aggravated Kidnapping
  • Aggravated Kidnapping (release victim in safe place)
  • Kidnapping
  • Unlawful Restraint
  • Unlawful Restraint (victim less than 17 years old)
  • Unlawful Restraint (exposes victim to serious bodily injury)

Back to Top

Sex Offender Links
 

Registration Requirements

School Notification

Public Notification